11.05.2021 news JUST IN: Southern Governors Ban Open Grazing, Ask Buhari to Address the Nation

Published 11th May, 2021

By Adeola Oladipupo

The Southern Governors Forum has resolved that open grazing should be banned in the South of the country and that President Muhammadu Buhari addresses the nation on the spate of insecurity.

The resolutions come at a meeting 13 governors and two deputy governors held in Delta State. The governors of Osun and Cross Rivers states were absent, according to Punch.

“Southern governors expressed very grave concern on security challenges currently plaguing the nation and strongly urged that Mr. President should address Nigerians on the challenges of insecurity and restore the confidence the confidence of our people,” Oluwarotimi Akeredolu, Chairman of the Southern Governors Forum, said as he read out the communique released at the end of the meeting.

“We observed that the incursion of armed herds, criminals and bandits into the Southern part of the country has presented a severe security challenge such that citizens are not able to live their normal lives, including pursuing various productive activities leading to a threat to food supply and general security.

“Consequently, the meeting resolved that open grazing of cattle be banned across Southern Nigeria.”

The Governors also called for the restructuring of the Nigerian federal system to allow for the evolution of state police, review of revenue allocation formula in the interest of sub-governments.

“In view of widespread agitations among our various peoples for greater inclusiveness in existing governance arrangements, the Federal Government should convoke a national dialogue as matter of urgency,” Akeredolu stated.

Other resolutions include recommendations for the establishment of ports in states of the federation while expressing concerns over the persistent gridlock on the Oshodi-Apapa Expressway.

Governors in attendance were They are Delta State Governor Ifeanyi Okowa, Dr Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti), Nyesom Wike (Rivers), Godwin Obaseki (Edo), Dapo Abiodun (Ogun), Seyi Makinde (Oyo) and Babajide Sanwo-Olu (Lagos).

Douye Diri (Bayelsa), Okezie Ikpeazu (Abia), Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi (Enugu), Rotimi Akeredolu (Ondo), David Umahi (Ebonyi) and Willie Obiano (Anambra) complete the list. Imo and Akwa Ibom states were represented by their deputy governors.

Published 11th May, 2021

By Adeola Oladipupo


Our Stories

Saheed Babalola

US-Based Nigerian Refuses to Pay Back ‘$4,553 Borrowed From Ex-Lover’

Jumia mobile app

Student Suspects Foul Play in Jumia’s Handling of His N11,000

Abubakar Ali Peters

EFCC Reveals Role of Ali Peters, Nadabo Energy Ltd MD, in ‘N1.4bn Fraud’

Nancy Brophy

Nancy Brophy Wrote the Book ‘How to Murder Your Husband’. Now, She’s on Trial for Murder of Husband

Big Bottling Company

Big Bottling Company ‘Blacklists’ Vendor Over Disagreement on Price, Delivery Date

Russian Soldiers

US Advisor: Russia Blocking Food From Entering Africa, America


Minister Confirms Seeing ‘4 Corpses’ as Traders, Riders Clash in Abuja

Standard Life Alliance Empowerment

After Denying Investors Their Funds at Maturity, Standard Alliance Life Assurance Shuts Down Offices


Despite Court Order Striking Out Case, INTERPOL Declares Blogger Wanted


Colonel’s Wife Disobeys Court Order to Surrender Truck After Her Driver Caused an Accident — And the Police Are Helpless